DEIA Mission & Leadership

Statement of Intent

The Foss Waterway Seaport’s Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Access (DEIA) committee was created to build a foundation for the organization to embrace, educate, and celebrate diverse points of view, experiences, and identities. By increasing our knowledge of inequities, we will help the organization better serve our staff, volunteers, and community. We will also work to identify practices and policies that will lead to a more diverse staff and leadership. This will make us a stronger organization and lead to museum exhibits and programs that better reflect and connect with the community we serve.We acknowledge that we were founded and are led by mostly white people of similar social and economic standing. And that some of the topics we cover include class
barriers, such as recreational boating. We acknowledge that systemic racism exists and that representation is powerful. To truly tell the stories of the people and industry of this region we must be honest and thoughtful. We must be intentional about including
historically erased communities in the stories we tell and in the accessibility of our building and programs.

Pillars of Our Work

We will structure our work using the BEAM acronym: Build, Engage, Advance, Maintain.

Build systems necessary to promote a diverse workforce and inclusive environment.
with the community around inclusion and accessibility.
Advance our staff and volunteers’ DEIA knowledge and cultural competence.
accountability through consistent self-evaluation.

Tracking Success

Our goals are to; inform our current staff about how to incorporate DEIA processes in organizational decisions and move towards having a staff, board, and volunteer base diverse in thought, background, and perspective that can bring their experiences to
decision making. Our success will be evaluated by this committee to hold the organization accountable to these goals.

Board of Directors

Andrea H Reay

Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber of Commerce

Carla Santorno

Tacoma Public Schools, Retired

Rodney Rhymes

ILWU #23, Retired

Kae Paterson, Advisory Member

Peninsula School District, Retired

Terry Paine, Advisory Member

Paine, Kilpatrick & Coleman, Retired

Karina Martija-Harris

Washington Maritime Blue

Archie Matthew, Jr. - Advisory Member


Pat Orrino

Woodland Trade Company

Alisa Praskovich

Port of Tacoma and Crowley Maritime

Bud Bronson

Tacoma Youth Marine Foundation

Duncan Livingston


Alex Ritsema

TOTE Maritime Alaska

Tal Edman

The Edman Company, Retired

Christine Brandt

Tacoma Public Schools

Calvin Bamford, Jr. - Advisory Member

Globe Machine

Steve Keller

Kel-Tech Plastics Inc., Retired

Luke Curtis, 2nd Vice President

Weyerhaeuser Company, Retired

John Hatcher

Café Pacific Catering

Hayden Taylor, Secretary

Eisenhower Carlson PLLC

Rich Schmidtke, Treasurer

Schmidtke & Associates, PLLC

Pat Lewis, President

Commencement Bank